Testimonials

The Michael Bruggeman difference means that our clients best outcome is our top priority. Read what our clients have to say in their own words.

MORE

Case Results

Results Matter. Take a look at some of our case results, we guarantee you won't be disappointed.

MORE

Case Evaluation

Are you wondering if you have a case? Fill out this short form and one of our attorneys will contact you to discuss your options.

MORE

Penal Code 290

Failure to Register as a Sex Offender

Penal Code 290 requires you to register on your birthdayFacing charges for failing to register as a Sex Offender? If you are in violation of California Penal Code Section 290 for failing to register, that is a misdemeanor. Don’t let the term “misdemeanor” fool you – that can mean up to ONE year in county jail! Criminal Law Attorney Michael Bruggeman has 15-years of experience in defending persons charged with serious crimes and the fallout such has Penal Code 290. Mr. Bruggeman is a Orange County Criminal Defense attorney who will fight to get you the best possible outcome for your case.

Pursuant to the California Penal Code Section 290, if you have been charged with a sex cirme, you are required to register and re-register yearly within 5-days of your birthday as a sex offender for the rest of your life so long as you are residing, attending school, or working in California. If you move into the state or change address, registration must be updated to reflect your new address within five business days of such a move. If you are a living on a college campus, you must also register as a sex offender with the college or university. Some of the offenses that require you to register include, but are not limited to rape, sexual battery, and sex crimes against minors.

Anyone who fails to register as a sex offender after being mandated to by the court is guilty of violating California Penal Code 290.

In order to prosecute you for a Penal Code 290 violation, the state has the burden to prove you were guilty of:

  • Actually being charged with sex crimes falling under the code
  • That you are a resident of the state of California
  • That you were obligated to register as a sex offender
  • That you intentionally ignored this requirement

The penalties for failing to register as a sex offender depend on what type of sex crime you were convicted of, whether it was a misdemeanor or a felony.

Penalties if you failed to register and you were convicted of:

Misdemeanor sex offense:Up to 1-year in a county jail
Felony sex offense:16 months to 3-years in the California State Prison

Challenging The Penal Code 290 Requirement

The legal obligation to register as a sex offender lasts a lifetime. There are, however, ways to remove this lifetime requirement to register. A person who is required to register under the Sex Offender Registration Act may be relieved of his or her requirement to register as a sex offender by obtaining a Certificate of Rehabilitation. This is found in California Penal Code Section 290.5. The only other option, which is usually a “long shot” is obtaining a Governor’s pardon.

Contact a Orange County Sex Crimes Defense Lawyer Right Now!

If you have been charged with Penal Code 290 for failing to register as a sex offender and need immediate help to minimize the fallout, Michael Bruggeman is here to help. Don’t wait.